LNMU History/Details | Lalit Narayan Mithila University Completed /Brief and all details.

By | April 2, 2023

Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Popularly known as Mithila University is in the town of Darbhanga, Bihar State. Mithila University is the result of long preserved aspirations of the people of Mithila. Do you know the history of the establishment of Lalit Narayan Mithila University? The demand of establishing the Mithila university was articulated and gone beyond the society to the floors of state legislatures & Parliament.

On the auspicious day of Vasant Panchami, 27th January 1947 a committee was established to oversee this long cherished demand of Mithila Vasi (Residents of Mithila Region). Here are all the details about the LNMU, LNM University details, Details of Mithila University Bihar, Bihar Best Mithila University. You will surely proud fill on this University after knowing about the Mithila University.  

Lalit Narayan Mithila University Darbhanga ( Mithila University) 

Dr. Amarnath Jha was given the responsibility as President of the committee having intellectuals and leading citizens of Darbhanga, Lehriyasarai such as Pandit Gangadhar Mishra, Pandit Girindra Mohan Mishra. The year 1968 was another milestone year in the history of Mithila University when UGC Team visited Darbhanga to examine the prospect of Multi courses offering University. The state government, on the recommendation of UGC Team, set up a committee to examine the academic and administrative structure of the proposed university.

Mithila University Darbhanga 

Then Govt. of India constituted a committee headed by Shri T. P. Singh, Secretary, Minister of Education and Social Welfare to consider the establishment of independent Mithila University. Finally based on the reports and feedbacks of all these committees and considering the socio-economic background, Mithila University was opened on the ordinance of 1972 being headquartered at Darbhanga Town.

Union Railway Minister Lalit Narayan Mishra – Mithila University 

It is to be noted that Mithila University was opened independently and join as the third university of Bihar.  Interestingly earlier it was named as Mithila University but after the sudden passing of the Union Railway Minister Lalit Narayan Mishra Ji. Mithila University was renamed as Lalit Narayan Mithila University. From the year 1986, Lalit Narayan Mithila University has UGC recognized after getting the recognition under the section 12(A) of UGC Act.

LNMU Mithila University Proud of North Bihar 

Lalit Narayan Mithila University is one of the elite universities in Bihar. Please read further to know some of the details of Lalit Narayan Mithila University.

Latest update of LNMU 

Overview of LNMU 

  • The establishment year-  1972
  • University Type – Public
  • Head Quarter – Darbhanga, Bihar
  • Main Campus Area – 230 Acre
  • Recognition:-  UGC (University Grant Commission)
  • Total No. of Affiliated Colleges:-  24
  • No. of Constituent Colleges:-  43
  • No. of B.Ed. Colleges:-  23
  • No. of Dental Colleges:- 03
  • No. of Self-Financing Institutions:- 07
  • No. of PG Departments:-  21
  • District Darbhanga, Madhubani, Begusarai, & Samastipur and Sitamarghi

LNMU Postal Address  

Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Kameshwar Nagar, Darbhanga – 846 008 BiharTel: 06272-222463
Fax: 06272-222598
E-Mail: vc_lnmu@indiatimes
Dr. Kumaresh Prasad. Sinha
Tel: 06272 222428(O)247621(R)
Fax: 222598/247621

Website: www.lnmu.ac.in    // www.ddelnmu.ac.in

if you wish to say or ask anythings about the Lalit Narayan Mithila Univesity then please share with us through the comment with your name and email id.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *